The stalemate continues

Mat Staver
Founder and Chairman
Liberty Counsel

Earlier today, the Senate rejected two competing bills:

The first was a Republican bill that included funding for President Trump's combined plan for comprehensive border security and to fund the furloughed federal employees. Democrat Joe Manchin (WV) was the only Democrat to support the GOP package.

The second was a Democrat bill to reopen the government for a period of time while negotiations continued over funding for border security. "The vote was 52-44 on the Democratic bill, with all Democrats voting yes and several Republicans crossing over, including Utah Sen. Mitt Romney, Maine Sen. Susan Collins, Alaska Sen. Lisa Murkowski, Colorado Sen. Cory Gardner, Georgia Sen. Johnny Isakson, and Tennessee Sen. Lamar Alexander," as reported by Fox News.

Both measures failed to garner the 60 vote threshold needed to advance to an up-or-down vote. The stalemate continues

America faces an ongoing national security threat and humanitarian crisis unless our elected officials rise to the challenge of fulfilling the government's most basic obligations: physical safety, economic security, essential public services, and the uniform protection of our laws.
If you haven't already done so, click here to send an immediate message to key members of Congress to remind them of their role to act on behalf of the security of the citizens of the United States!

Everything you need is one click away to craft your own message or use one of our pre-written messages.

Fax Button

We pray that a resolution is close at hand, not only to protect our borders and security, but to reinstate 800,000 federal workers who are not receiving a paycheck for now.

THANK YOU to all of you who made your voices know loud and clear to our elected officials during this arduous process that, as of tonight, remains unresolved. We will continue to monitor congressional action as it unfolds.

God bless you,
P.S. If you would like to contact your senators and representative regarding this vote, you can do so by calling the Capitol switchboard at (202) 224-3121.